Student Life

Association of Student Nurses

On this page:

Overview

The Association of Student Nurses (ASN) at Wright State University serves as a student organization with the goal to mentor, support, and empower nursing students within the College of Nursing and Health. The organization strives to uphold the standards and ethics of the nursing profession, encourage community involvement, facilitate networking, and aid in the advancement of the whole person and his/her professional role as a future registered nurse. ASN operates at the local, regional, state and national levels to ensure high-quality professional development for the nursing student.

ASN is a constituent of the National Student Nurses Association (NSNA). Membership in both ASN and NSNA offer valuable resources for the nursing student such as scholarships, NCLEX help, and more. Members of ASN and all nursing students are encouraged to join NSNA. Visit nsna.org to learn more.

What We Do

  • Community Service Opportunities
  • Professional Development
  • Monthly meetings*

Location: TBA
Phone: (937) 775-4537

*Members must attend at least three out of four meetings per semester to retain membership status.

Board Members

President: Sarah Downing - downing.47@wright.edu

Vice President: Taylor Bates -   bates.72@wright.edu

Treasurer: Macie Flora - flora.23@wright.edu

Secretary: Faith Lane - lane.107@wright.edu

Event Organizer: Allye Camden - camden.10@wright.edu

Social Media: Sara Crampton - crampton.3@wright.edu

Faculty Advisors: Liz Pulley - elizabeth.pulley@wright.edu and Annette Watts - annette.watts@wright.edu

 

Membership

If you'd like to join ASN, complete the application.

Requirements

  • Students enrolled in state-approved programs leading to licensure as a registered nurse.
  • Active members shall have all the privileges of membership.
  • Active members must attend a minimum of five events in a time period of two consecutive academic semesters and have paid annual $10.00 dues. (Any student who pays to be a member of National Student Nurses Association does not need to pay the additional ASN dues.)
  • Active members must attend 75% of member meetings during the academic semester (3 out of 4 meetings per semester)
  • Active members who miss more than 25% of the member meetings in one academic semester will be deemed an inactive member for the current semester if the absence is deemed unexcused.
  • Members are expected to adhere to Wright State University and College of Nursing and Health code of conduct.